Strategic Air and Space Museum ~ Located off Interstate 80, Exit 426, this 300,000-square-foot facility is home to a world-class collection of 30 aircraft and missiles, two aircraft display hangars, an ever-changing exhibit area, an interactive gallery for kids,
and a 200-seat theater. (402) 944-3100 www.SASMuseum.com
Bess Streeter Aldrich House and Museum ~ 204 East “F” Street. One of Nebraska’s finest writers, Bess Streeter Aldrich, recreated in her short stories and novels the ups and downs of small-town living in hopes that her readers would not only understand the hardships and struggles of the times, but also see the virtues and hopes that became a part of these prairie times in the Midwest. (402) 994-3855 www.bessstreeteraldrich.org
WWII Library and Museum ~ Just off I-80, Exit 420. The attraction features American, German, and Japanese memorabilia and a library. (402) 944-4238 or (402) 944-8118
Cass County Historical Museum ~ 646 Main St. The museum takes you on an historical journey dating back to when the town was settled. Permanent collection and rotating exhibits tell the history of Cass County since settlement in 1854. Open April-October: Tuesday-Sunday from noon-4:00 p.m. and November-March: Tuesday-Saturday from noon-4:00 p.m. (402) 296-4770 www.casscountynemuseum.org
Weeping Water Museum ~ Housed in three buildings one block off Main Street and one on Main Street, which display Native American Culture, frontier life, a doctor’s office from the late 1800s, and recreations of Weeping Water’s early businesses. (402) 267-4925www.weepingwaterhistory.org
The Fillmore County Museum ~ The museum is housed in the Fairmont Creamery Company, built in 1886. The company was later called Fairmont Foods. Dr. S.F. Ashby purchased the building for his medical practice in 1907. The museum contains the doctor’s waiting room, WW II and Fairmont Army Airfield memorabilia and other items.
McClellan Drug Store ~ The McClellan Drug Store, a part of the Fillmore County Museum, contains a soda fountain, a 1905 carriage, a one-room schoolhouse, a 2,400-piece pitcher collection, farm tools and antique furniture.
Strang Museum ~ Formerly the Hamilton township hall built in 1889, the Strang Museum was moved to Strang in 1984. During Strang’s centennial year, 1986, the building was transformed into a museum. Standing on the grounds is a wooden windmill and the steeple bell from the United Brethren Church. For appointment, call (402) 759-0120.
Homestead National Monument of America ~ Explore this National Park. Interactive exhibits, tallgrass prairie, pioneer school, cabin, and special events chronicle immigration, migration, and American Indian cultures of an America forever altered by the Homestead Act. An award-winning film, “Land of Dreams” is shown at the Heritage Center along with museum exhibits. At the Education Center are farm implement displays and ever-changing special exhibits. 2013 will be commemorated as “The Year of the Homesteader,” as it was 150 years ago (in 1863) that people could first stake claims to a free homestead under the Homestead Act . For more information, call (402) 223-3514 or visit www.nps.gov/home. Or visit us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/HomesteadNM
Gage County Historical Society and Museum ~ Located in the Burlington Railroad Depot, built in 1906. Genealogy available. The 2013 summer exhibit is “On This Our Wedding Day: 100 Years of Wedding Dresses” and opens June 1. Museum hours are Tuesday-Saturday from 9 a.m.-Noon and 1-5 p.m. and on Sundays from 1:30-5 p.m. in the summer. Winter hours are Tuesday-Friday from 9 a.m.- Noon and 1-5 p.m. and on Sundays from 1:30-5 p.m. (402) 228-1679
Johnson Cabin Museum ~ The first settlers arrived in Gage County in the 1850s, long before the Homestead Act became law. Rev. James and Martha Johnson arrived in Blue Springs Township in the summer of 1857. They were true pioneers whose story has been lovingly preserved in their 157-year-old cabin in Blue Springs Park. The cabin is furnished with memorabilia from its time period and is hosted by docents who are familiar with the home and the rich history of southern Gage County. Visit BlueSpringsNe.com for opening dates.
Great Plains Welsh Heritage and Culture Centre Museum and Pleasant View Schoolhouse Museum ~ The Welsh Heritage Project tells the story of Welsh settlers of Nebraska and the Great Plains through interactive displays, artifacts, and oral histories. Displays are in the Great Plains Welsh Heritage and Culture Centre Museum at 307 S. 7th St., and the Pleasantview Schoolhouse Museum in McCandless Park on Highway 77. (402) 645-3186 www.welshheritage.org
The Fairbury City Museum ~ 1128 Elm St. Features exhibits that focus on pioneer life and the Campbell Bros. Circus, which wintered at Fairbury in the late 19th century. The museum is open year round. Friday 4-8 p.m., Saturday and Sunday 1-4 p.m. or by appointment. (402) 671-6879
The Fairbury Rock Island Depot Railroad Museum ~ 910 Bacon Road. Features the heritage of the rail industry in Jefferson County. It features a Burlington depot, Rock Island Motor Car 9047, a miniature train to ride and an extensive model railroad display. (402) 729-5131
Johnson County Museum Complex ~ Third and Lincoln Streets in Tecumseh. Several unique and unusual items are on display at the Johnson County Museum, which is housed in the Christian Church built in 1888. The Hedgerow Country School is located just north of the museum and contains items reminiscent of the 79 country schools that were located in Johnson County. The Historic Limestone Jail was built in 1872 and legend has it that there are cannonballs in the walls.
Nemaha Valley Museum ~ The Nemaha Valley Museum is on the south side of historic Courthouse Square in Auburn at 1423 19th Street. It displays the history of the area in three buildings and a courtyard. The museum is open Wednesday through Sunday from 1:00-4:30 pm. (402) 274-2608 www.nemahavalleymuseum.org
Flatwater Folk Art Museum ~ An art collection of vernacular expressions and creations reflecting the human spirit and the passion of common folk celebrating the diverse and universal traditions of life’s experiences, ceremonies, and rituals. Main Street at 6th Street. Groups by Reservation; call (402) 825-4371.
Governor Furnas Museum ~ 1868 South 6th Street at Water Street (White Brick House). This Italianate and Gothic Revival-style house was built in 1868 and was occupied by Robert Furnas from 1878 until his death in 1905 (as his retirement home). Robert Furnas was Nebraska’s third (or second elected) governor. For hours, call (402) 274-4772.
The Wheel Museum ~ Historical display of various carriages, wagons, cannon, steam engines, etc. Open and free to the public.
The Meriwether Lewis Dredge Museum ~ The Meriwether Lewis, a decommissioned U.S. Army Corps of Engineers dredge boat, now houses a Museum of Missouri River History. For hours, please call. (402) 825-3982 www.MeriwetherLewisFoundation.org
Peru Museum ~ Features a history of the Missouri River involving fishing, barge traffic and recreation. The museum is not always open so send an email to email@example.com.
Arbor Lodge State Historical Park ~ 2300 2nd Ave. Encompassing 72 acres of wooded rolling hills, this state historical park offers visitors plenty to explore inside and out. The 52-room Arbor Lodge mansion, home of J. Sterling Morton (founder of Arbor Day) gives a glimpse back in time. And the park grounds, open year-round from dawn to dusk, feature more than 300 varieties of lilacs, an Italian terraced garden, a whispering bench, and a walking trail lined with trees planted by the Morton family. Mansion open seasonally. Admission. State Park Permit required. (402) 873-7222 www.ngpc.state.ne.us
Civil War Museum at Grand Army of the Republic Hall ~ 910 1st Corso. Republic artifacts are preserved in an original post used as a social gathering place for Union Civil War veterans. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-4018
Mayhew Cabin with John Brown’s Cave ~ 2012 4th Corso. This is the only site in Nebraska on the National Park Service Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. Visitors can tour the cabin and cave as well as the historical village. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-3115 www.mayhewcabin.com
Missouri River Basin Lewis & Clark Interpretive Trail & Visitor Center
100 Valmont Dr. Complete with an authentic replica of Lewis and Clark’s keelboat and plenty of hands-on activities, this interactive experience focuses on the more than 300 flora, fauna, and scientific discoveries made on their historic Corps of Discovery Journey. Visitors also have the opportunity to meet Pee Dee, the resident prairie dog. Open year-round. Admission. (402) 874-9900 www.mrb-lewisandclarkcenter.org
Old Freighter’s Museum ~ 407 N. 14th St. Freighter’s museum showcases the importance of transportation to the development of the community dating back to 1859. Admission. (402) 873-9360
Nebraska City Museum of Firefighting and Education Center ~ Located at 1320 Central Avenue. As home to the oldest operating volunteer fire department in Nebraska, it is natural for Nebraska City to pay tribute to this community tradition. Visitors can enjoy interactive exhibits featuring antique equipment, dress in real bunker gear, and peruse the gift shop. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-3579 http://www.ncfire.net/Museum.html
Kregel Windmill Museum ~ 1416 Central Ave. Preserved to reflect a moment in time (the year 1939), this is the only known surviving intact historic windmill factory in the United States. Visitors find a time capsule of early twentieth-century shop-type manufacturing. Contents remain in place as if its employees had just stepped out to lunch.www.kregelwindmillfactorymuseum.org
River Country Nature Center ~ 114 S. 6th St. A unique collection of the area’s wildlife is on display. Children will enjoy the larger-than-life robin’s nest. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-3411
Taylor-Wessel-Bickel (Nelson) House ~ 711 3rd Corso. One of the oldest homes in the state serves not only as a museum but also the society quarters for the Nebraska City Historical Society. The rooms are filled with period furnishings and artifacts. In addition, the house is home to interpretive materials, art, and photos. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-9360
Wildwood Historic Home and Art Gallery ~ 420 Steinhart Park Rd. This ten-room period home contains many Victorian pieces. The historic barns serve as an art gallery and a gift shop showcasing regional artists. Open seasonally. Admission. (402) 873-6340
Otoe County Museum of Memories ~ Syracuse is the home of the Otoe County Museum of Memories, housed in the former First Lutheran Church, dedicated in 1881. The museum complex also houses the Kramer Building and a nature exhibit. It is open every Sunday afternoon from May through September or by appointment.
Harold Lloyd Home ~ In the 1920s, silent movie star Harold Lloyd thrilled audiences with his hair-raising stunts. The actor’s boyhood home is a museum that screens Lloyd’s many movies. Open by appointment. Call (402) 865-4665 or (402) 865-4725. More information at www.pawneecountyhistory.com
Pawnee City Historical Society & Museum ~ In 1968, the Pawnee City Historical Society & Museum was formed. Country school buildings were brought in and made into a country store, library, chapel, and Crackerbox school. Over the years, buildings have been constructed that hold many different kinds of memorabilia. Larry the Cable Guy’s barn was moved to the site. U.S. Sen. Kenneth Wherry’s Library is one of the most recent buildings to be dedicated. A genealogical resource center is available for those hunting information. The Museum is located on the east edge of Pawnee City near Highways 8 and 50. Admission is $5 for adults and children are free. There are two scavenger hunt games for children plus hands-on things to do. Every other year a Civil War Reenactment is held at the site. For more information, go to www.pawneecitymuseum.com or call (402) 852-2444. You can also contact us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/Pawnee-City-Historical-Society-Museum/279055538811461.
A Pedal Clinic ~ More than 450 pedal cars, tractors, airplanes and other toys are displayed at The Pedal Clinic at Hwy. 8 and I Street. Tours are by appointment only. (402) 852-2655
The Table Rock Public Square Historic District is on the National Register of Historic Places. All but one of the museums of the Table Rock Historical Society are on the Square. Off the Square is the Museum of St. John’s Catholic Church, built in 1877, and containing some surprising murals. On the Square are three other museums “in place.” The Opera House Museum is a “2nd story” opera house built in 1892 and remaining much as it was. The Argus Newspaper Museum & Picture Gallery occupies a building constructed in 1894 as a general store. The Pioneer Museum, filled with farm and home articles from pioneer days, occupies a building constructed in 1915. Two buildings have been moved to the site – the log cabin built in 1854 by an original settler of the county, and the Maple Grove Country School, built in 1874. Two other popular museums have been built in this century, the Veterans Museum, and the Stehlik Czech Museum.
There are currently no regular hours, but personal tours are easily secured. In addition, ghost stories involving historical events are told on select late nights in the summer. Contact Sharla Sitzman, 402-839-3003, email TRHistory@gmail.com, and website at www.TableRockHistoricalSociety.com. (Updated 7/3/17)
Henry Heim House Museum ~ A brand new museum opened in Dawson in 2014. The building is a major addition to the Henry Heim House Museum, a project of the Pennsylvania Colony Historical Society of Nebraska. These two properties are located just off Highway 75 northwest of Dawson. Gatherings of moderate size can be scheduled for the Museum’s community building. Call 402-855-4225 prior to your visit. Or call 402-239-649 to request a tour or hear an oral history about each building and its importance.
Richardson County Museum ~ Donated exhibits help the Richardson County Museum reflect the life of early years. Displays include an 1855 letter written by Abraham Lincoln, a working refrigerator, and washing machine from the late 19th century. The farming display has its own building. www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/richardson
Military Memorabilia ~ Military Park is dedicated to our service men and women. On display are a ship’s anchor, tank, howitzer and B-17 bomber propeller. Also, the Courthouse hosts a Military Museum back to World War I, including the historical Company B, 134th Infantry, Nebraska Army National Guard.
Quad County Museum ~ 314 East Square. Open the second Sunday of each month from 1:00 to 4:00 pm or call Duaine Stalder for a tour. 402-862-5338.
Verdon School Museum ~ The former Maple Grove District 47 one-room schoolhouse is now the Verdon School Museum. Situated at 6th and Pine Streets in Verdon, this building dates back about 150 years as a school property. It houses memorabilia from four schools: Verdon, Dawson, Dawson-Verdon, and District 47. Most impressive is the case that houses some 316 trophies and plaques. The oldest dates to 1928 from Peru State College and its MINK Class A Interstate basketball tournament. Photos from the later 1800s are in great condition. Call 402-883-2386 for more details or to schedule a tour.
Benne Memorial Museum ~ 800 W. 13th St. Along with The Maples complex and the Bickle House, the Benne Memorial Museum is open by appointment. Call (402) 826-4656 or (402) 826-5270.
Saline County Museum ~ In the 1960s, the Saline County Historical Society located its museum in Dorchester, and today the museum has 11 buildings on five acres housing many historical items. It is located on the east edge of town on Highway 33. Its unique “In Loving Memory” exhibit shows how Americans deal with death, including mourning and funeral customs. The museum is open April through October on Sundays from 2-5 p.m.,or by appointment. Contact the museum by calling (402) 947-2911 or call Judy Rada at (402) 243-2356 or Mary Anne Placek at (402) 448-5265.
Wilber Czech Museum ~ Recently remodeled, the museum houses a vast array of Czech items and history, including language, cookbooks and other handmade items for sale. A meeting room is available and staff members offer local genealogical guidance (call 402-821-3277). Open daily 1-4 p.m. or by appointment. (402) 821-2183 NebraskaCzechsOfWilber.com/museum
Sarpy County Historical Museum ~ 2402 Clay Street. Trace the history of Sarpy County from the original American Indians to its present-day residents. Exhibits include the history of fur traders and missionaries, with period rooms, early agricultural pursuits, and a scale model of Fort Crook (now Offutt Air Force Base). Annual Quilt Show June – August. (402) 292-1880. www.sarpycountymuseum.org
District 10 Schoolhouse Museum ~ Located approximately 1 mile south and 2 1/2 miles east of Alexandria, on the Oregon Trail. This schoolhouse turned museum features monuments dedicated to the memory of the Oregon Trail, Pony Express and Mormon travelers. The school was established in Meridian in the 1860s. The present schoolhouse, built in 1898, stands at the original locations. The District 10 Schoolhouse Museum is open Sundays 2-4 p.m. Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Thayer County Museum ~ This four-building complex includes artifacts from pioneer times, antique farm machinery and farming tools housed in a 135’ x 36’ new “Red Barn” and exhibits from the 11 communities located in the county. On the museum complex grounds is a monument dedicated to the Forty-Niner Trail, which is also known as the Oregon Trail in Nebraska, plus an iron Leffel’s Douple Turbine Water Wheel, which measures 17 feet in diameter, making it one of the largest in the state. It was moved from Spring Branch Creek. A popular event for the museum is the Bridal Wedding Dresses display in the summer. The museum is open Sundays and Wednesdays, 2-4 p.m. or by appointment. Free. (402) 768-6845 or (402) 768-6587.